Political update

Appendix 8

To supplement Chapter 3 lists of governors general, federal and provincial cabinets and the table of members of Parliament elected in the general election of July 1974, this appendix records changes to January 1979. It gives results of federal byelections, a federal Cabinet shuffle of November 1978 and changes in provincial executive councils and territorial government representatives following 1978 elections.

Governor General. The Right Honourable Edward Schreyer, the 22nd Governor General of Canada, was appointed by Queen Elizabeth on December 7, 1978, to take office on January 22, 1979.

Federal byelections by electoral district, elected member and political affiliation:

October 14, 1975

Restigouche (NB), Maurice Harquail, Lib. Hochelaga (Que.), Jacques Lavoie, Lib.

October 18, 1976

St. John's West (Nfld.), John C. Crosbie, PC Ottawa-Carleton (Ont.), Jean E. Pigott, PC

May 24, 1977

Malpeque (PEI), Donald Wood, Lib. Temiscamingue (Que.), Gilles Caouette, SC Louis-Hébert (Que.), Dennis Dawson, Lib. Langelier (Que.), J.-Gilles Lamontagne, Lib. Terrebonne (Que.), J.-Roland Comtois, Lib. Verdun (Que.), Raymond Savard, Lib.

October 16, 1978

Humber-St. George's-St. Barbe (Nfld.), Fonse Faour, NDP

Cabinet changes as of November 24, 1978:

President of the Board of Economic Development Ministers, Hon. Robert Knight Andras Minister of Labour, Hon. Martin O'Connell

(replacing Hon. John Carr Munro who resigned on September 8, 1978)

Minister of State for Federal-Provincial Relations, Hon. John M. Reid

Minister of Supply and Services, Hon. Pierre De Bané (replacing Hon. Jean-Pierre Goyer)

President of the Treasury Board, Hon. Judd Buchanan

Minister of Public Works and Minister of State for Urban Affairs (department to be eliminated March 31, 1979), Hon. André Ouellet Halifax-East Hants (NS), Howard Crosby, PC Fundy-Royal (NB), Bob Corbett, PC Lotbinière (Que.), Richard Janelle, SC Saint-Hyacinthe (Que.), Marcel Ostiguy, Lib.

Westmount (Que.), Donald J. Johnston, Lib. Hamilton-Wentworth (Ont.), Geoff Scott, PC Ottawa Centre (Ont.), Robert de Cotret, PC

Broadview (Ont.), Bob Rae, NDP

Eglinton (Ont.), Rob Parker, PC Parkdale (Ont.), Yuri Shymko, PC

Rosedale (Ont.), David Crombie, PC

York-Scarborough (Ont.), Paul McCrossan, PC

St. Boniface (Man.), Jack Hare, PC

Burnaby-Richmond-Delta (BC), Thomas Siddon, PC

Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada, Hon. Marc Lalonde (replacing Hon. Otto Emil Lang who had been appointed following the resignation of Hon. Stanley Ronald Basford on August 2, 1978)

Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources and Minister of State for Science and Technology, Hon. Alastair William Gillespie

Minister of National Revenue (replacing Hon. Joseph-Philippe Guay) and Minister of State (Small Business), Hon. Anthony Chisholm Abbott

Prince Edward Island. As a result of the provincial election of April 24, 1978, party standings were: Liberals 17, Progressive Conservatives 15.

The Executive Council of Prince Edward Island in April 1978

Premier, President of the Executive Council, Minister of Justice, Attorney and Advocate General and Minister responsible for Cultural Affairs, Hon, Alexander B, Campbell

Minister of Health and Minister of Social Services, Hon. A.E. (Bud) Ings

Provincial Secretary, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Minister of Labour, Hon. George Proud Minister of Tourism, Parks and Conservation and

Minister of Environment, Hon. Arthur J. MacDonald Minister of Public Works and Minister of Highways, Hon. George R. Henderson Minister of Fisheries, Hon. Robert E. Campbell Minister of Industry and Commerce and Minister of Development, Hon. John H. Maloney Minister of Education and Minister of Finance.

Minister of Education and Minister of Finance, Hon. W. Bennett Campbell

Minister of Agriculture and Forestry, Hon. Edward W. Clark

Minister without portfolio (and responsible for the Housing Corporation), Hon. James B. Fay